Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Delay when shifting into gear...

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2008, 09:49 PM
Beginning Member
All Star is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Delay when shifting into gear...

2000 LT, with ~60,000 miles, I'm a complete newb when it comes to cars and what not.

When I start the car and go to shift into reverse, or drive, there is a couple second hesitation where I am hitting the gas and nothing happens and it lurches into gear. It seems most noticeable when I don't give it a minute or two to warm up. We had the distributer and spark plugs changed last week, and a couple days ago the SES light came on, but that went off by itself today. When we had it serviced the guy said all our fluids were fine as well. The truck runs absolutely fine other then the initial delay.

Anyone have this problem before? Or is it even a problem?

Old 09-05-2008, 10:31 PM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute
Default RE: Delay when shifting into gear...

Is it just a few seconds? Are you pushing on the accelerator before it goes into gear? If it is only lurching into gear when you are pressing on the gas pedal, then that would explain the lurching... Does does engine/transmission temperature matter (i.e. more of a problem at cold startup or does it do it during warm startup as well)?