Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Help With Locating Speed Sensor

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2011, 08:00 AM
simified is on a distinguished road
Default Help With Locating Speed Sensor

Hello,
I've been using this site for a while but this is my first time actually posting. I own a 98' Blazer LT 4.3L 6 cylinder 4wd. The problem I'm having is on occasion my brake light will come on, usually when I hit a bump. When the light comes on I will also notice on occasion when I brake I will feel a pulsating sensation in the brake pedal. Even though the light will be on the pulsating isn't constant. Now from what I've read in the forums, if I am understanding this correctly, is that the brake light coming on occasionally and the pulsating is from a malfunctioning speed sensor. I've read that them becoming dirty or have a problem with the wires is quite common. My question(s) is this...

1. Where is the location of the speed sensor?

2. Is the pulsating in the brake pedal in fact caused by a faulty speed sensor or could it be something else?

Right now my Blazer is a paper weight in my garage since the fuel pump went out, another common problem from what I've read. The brake light/pulsating problem has been going on for a while now but I figure as long as I'm waiting for the rest of my parts to come in for the fuel pump I'd take care of the brake problem as well. Thank you in advance to any one who can offer any advice and also to everyone for posting all the useful tips I've been using for the past year since I bought my Blazer.

Old 12-12-2011, 08:54 AM
Administrator