Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

? issues ? 95 s-10 blazer 4x4 4door 4.3L

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2009, 10:48 AM
Beginning Member
poeticviking is on a distinguished road
Default ? issues ? 95 s-10 blazer 4x4 4door 4.3L

So sorry this is a little rambling, there are a lot of minor things wrong with this fantastic vehicle. My GF says i love it more than her. I have my own 97 chevy Silverado but man this s-10 blazer is way cooler. I am not a mechanic i mostly work on older jap bikes. I know enough about trucks and cars to be dangerous and have a collection of friends that know a lot more than me, mostly I am doing it on my own to learn as much as I can I also have the manual handy but it does not seem to want to just give up the answers. I have already replaced the starter myself and a few other minor things.

It has three main issues: First off no codes?!

Overheating( But this has been mostly taken care of)

Fuel lapsing.

Interior Electric.

Overheating:

It was overheating, i have several things to do to fix it completely but for now it is working beautifully, or as well as a 15 year old truck will. Any-hoo I fixed the overheating for now by burping the system. I still need to replace a mostly broken and missing fan shroud, flush the system, and add actual coolant instead of just water( how long can i let that go I know it creates rust and water does not displace heat as well as coolant but can it wait another month or two). It's possible there is a freeze plug blown out in the rear would that be a slow or quick leak, the previous owner said this was the coolant leak issue but it turned out to be a thermostat and hose issue.

Fuel: