Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Manifold Leak

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2012, 07:11 PM
CodyL. is on a distinguished road
Default Manifold Leak

I recently found out that I had a manifold leak on my 2000 s10 Blazer. I went to the shop and they quoted me for $291.00, being a broke college student, I can't afford it. Is there any temporary fixes anybody knows about or can inform me about at least until I can afford it?

Old 11-06-2012, 08:03 PM
jaystoy is on a distinguished road

Well where exactly did they tell you it was leaking on the manifold? Vacuum leak? Coolant leak?

Old 11-06-2012, 08:12 PM
1sttimejimmyowner is on a distinguished road
Default I would only use this in emergency situations

But if your manifold is leaking on bottom side where its bolts to the heads you can buy a can of K&W block sealer.I have used this product many times especialy on blown head gaskets.
I had 91 Pontiac 6000 with 3.1 blown intake gasket.I was on a road trip so I used the K&W product.It lasted about 3 months before I had to finaly do the job the right way.

I might add that the K&W is only for leaks on the coolant side of the gasket.

You can also try tightening down the manifold bolts that you can get to.
Its also not a very difficult job to remove and replace the gasket and manifold.
If its the gasket inbetween the upper and lower planem the plastic part tht fastens to the metal part then replacing that gasket is very easy to do.

So you can save alot of dough if you are mechanicaly inclined.

Last edited by 1sttimejimmyowner; 11-06-2012 at 08:33 PM.
Old 11-06-2012, 08:26 PM
Beginning Member
tmnc78 is on a distinguished road