Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

NEED HELP--- Knocking noise can't diagnose

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2010, 10:12 PM
Beginning Member
adaptechsolution is on a distinguished road
Default NEED HELP--- Knocking noise can't diagnose

Hey guys hope I am posting this in the right area as I am a newbie to this site... I got two issues I'm faced with right now.. 1. After getting stuck in the mud and letting my Brother-in-Law play with getting it out, i cleaned it off and went to make sure it wouldn't shake/shimmy on the road. When I dropped a gear to get up to 65/70 a few minutes later it started knockin. It is rythmic with the motor but gets quieter under a load gets loud again after you let off the gas and it sounds louder. Noise usually only starts after the engine warms a little bit.

So far I..

Pulled all push rods and reseated them to make sure they weren't bent or anything wrong with them. Got rocker-arms good and snug.

Still prob..

Did all little stuff like sea foamed it, added lucas oil treatment and checked everything else out such as bolts on flex plate and so on.

My brother in law (mechanically inclined) told me about taking off the oil pan to check for something but didn't quite understand what he was talking about.

Please if you could i need to get this taken care of. What could be going on. All help would be appreciated..

Old 03-07-2010, 11:19 AM
Beginning Member
Default Anything...

I noticed a lot of people viewing this already but no replies, if anyone has any ideas what so ever just throw them at me. any and every little bit will help. trust me i'm willing to take all suggestions and roll with them. Not trying to be impatient just a family truck that needs to be runnin right since the wife and baby use it and i'm rarely in the area... ( don't need a breakdown...)

Old 03-07-2010, 11:33 AM
Starting Member
1997 red blazer is on a distinguished road

Question,,, how is the oil pressure?