Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

P1810B Error Code from 'Check Engine Soon' Light - 2003 Blazer Xtreme. Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2010, 03:49 PM
givemesnow is on a distinguished road
Default P1810B Error Code from 'Check Engine Soon' Light - 2003 Blazer Xtreme. Please Help

I'm a broke college student and just got the check engine soon light on my 2003 Blazer Xtreme. I took it to Autozone and the guy gave me the error code of P1810B and said it has to do with the 'transmission fluid pressure position switch', but there was nothing they could do there.. That I'd have to take it to a dedicated transmission mechanic. I called around and all the tranny mechanics are quoting me $100 for the diagnostic alone and will not give me any insight as to potential repair costs.

Like I said, I'm a broke college student and the semester just started. Literally every penny counts. I can't throw $100 down the tubes just to find out that I need to drop $1k in further repairs. If it's a hefty repair cost, I will need to sell the Blazer and pick up whatever I can with whatever I can get for it as-is.

Can anyone here lend some insight as to what kind of problems/repair costs I could potentially be looking at? Or are these mechanics correct in saying that there is absolutely no way of knowing without a full tranny diagnostic? The original mechanic that gave me the error code said that I should not drive it at all, as to not potentially turn a small problem into a huge problem.. So I'm also stuck bumming rides from people to & from school and work til I figure out what to do Is this correct that I should not drive it at all given the error code?

Thanks in advance

PS - I just saw the thread about diagnostic code P1810, but I don't know ANYTHING about cars and I might as well have been reading Chinese

Last edited by givemesnow; 02-11-2010 at 03:58 PM.
Old 02-11-2010, 05:55 PM
Administrator