Engine & Transmission Post your Engine and Transmission related problems here.

Transmission issues after filter change

Old 09-29-2016, 08:14 AM
lividtaco is on a distinguished road
Red face Transmission issues after filter change

2004 trailblazer, friends vehicle trying to do a full overhaul on amd get it running proper. Kind of an experiment as I'm no mechanic and just recently started doing repairs myself. Anyways focusing on the problem, I dropped the trans pan drained fluid and pulled old filter. New filter came with a little shim type deal I assume goes on top of the stem of the filter. When removing the old one it appeared that this shim was still in the transmission and it did NOT want.to come out. Spent over an hour trying to be super careful in removing it until finally I took a small trim flat head and best it inwards to collapse it enough so that it finally came out. (Sure hope it was suppose to come out) The new filter did not stay snug up inside there as the old one did and semi worried it didn't seat correctly. After putting it all together and adding fluid, running car at medium rpm and then cycling through all the gears all appeared fine. Pulled it out of barn couple hours later noticed no issues.