Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

1982 K5 new owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2011, 10:59 PM
Bigsarge35 is on a distinguished road
Default 1982 K5 new owner

I am bringing it to the house this week ( it's actually next door ) but I know I will be needing to do some work with it right away. It more than likely won't be everyonnes cup of tea but I like it. It's done in orange ( more like the bronze orange than crayola orange ) paint with original white leather intierior ( I didn't know they even had the option of leather but hey...I'm new to this truck )350 with an automatic 2WD with 20's. It is not as "pimpin" as it's sounds I swear! First thing I know I need is some suspension work, was looking to replace the old springs and shocks and found a lowering kit from DJM suspension. I understand them to have a good product but I am not sure what to go with for shocks. I know whats good for a car because I have done plenty of those but I am not exactly sure about what works for trucks. Any suggestions? I also am having trouble locating an off the shelf dual exhaust system that will work with long tube headers. Are most of the exhausts out there custom jobs? And would I be better off with short of long tube headers? I understand the benifits of both but it will be a run around for me so gas mileage isn't really a consideration...much. Lots of questions I know but feel free to answer all or one or none. Just saying hello and putting myself out there. I will have pictures up in a day or two.

Old 05-10-2011, 08:33 PM
Beginning Member
greendouglash is on a distinguished road