Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

91' 5.7L Blazer

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2012, 12:22 AM
Beginning Member
Chopsaw is on a distinguished road
Default 91' 5.7L Blazer

Hello everyone, I'm new to all this .
I have a 91' Blazer and it's been drinking coolant for awhile now, about a gallon in the last 3 1/2 months..
There is no oil in the radiator and no water in the oil and no coolant hits the ground.
And at cold idle runs perfect, warm idle runs a little rough and doesn't seem to be firing on #1 cyl, which makes me fail the emissions test.
warm running down the road runs great and also passes emissions with flying colors.
TBI Injection is producing excellent fan patterns no drips.
Egr holds a vacuum and engine idle go's goofy when i depress the diaphram.

So my question is this could the crossover on the water jacket going from 1 bank to the other be leaking into #1 cyl some how through the intake manifold?

Looking forward to your input

Old 03-07-2012, 03:23 PM
K1500brute is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Chopsaw
Hello everyone, I'm new to all this .
I have a 91' Blazer and it's been drinking coolant for awhile now, about a gallon in the last 3 1/2 months..
There is no oil in the radiator and no water in the oil and no coolant hits the ground.
And at cold idle runs perfect, warm idle runs a little rough and doesn't seem to be firing on #1 cyl, which makes me fail the emissions test.
warm running down the road runs great and also passes emissions with flying colors.
TBI Injection is producing excellent fan patterns no drips.
Egr holds a vacuum and engine idle go's goofy when i depress the diaphram.

So my question is this could the crossover on the water jacket going from 1 bank to the other be leaking into #1 cyl some how through the intake manifold?

Looking forward to your input
Is this a K5 Blazer?? or a 5.7L swap??