Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

93 K5 not locking in

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2012, 04:07 PM
5lumsdens is on a distinguished road

Newbie here. I can feel the front grab when I put it in 4L or 4H. When I tested it in 4L on the street in front of my house it runs through the gears quickly and tops out. When I get off in the sand (to test it out) the fron is not pulling. I hear no grinding at all. Any ideas?

Update. Check the gear oil and it is fine. Found that the actuator was bad so replaced it. Still not locking in. The light on the floorboard is still not coming on either. Any suggestions?

Last edited by rriddle3; 12-29-2012 at 01:17 AM. Reason: Combining consecutive posts
Old 12-28-2012, 07:06 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

I know nothing about these things, is the 4wd vac assist? if so, Check for a vac leak somewhere.

Old 12-28-2012, 09:51 PM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

No richie HE either has manual locking hubs OR automatic locking hubs. And a floor shift 4x4 system.

Put either 4 lo or hi IN and try to turn the driveshaft. If she spins the transfer case is not locked into range. IF it does lock Id check the hubs.

Old 12-28-2012, 11:46 PM
BF Veteran
richphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura aboutrichphotos has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by xgiovannix12
No richie HE either has manual locking hubs OR automatic locking hubs. And a floor shift 4x4 system.

Put either 4 lo or hi IN and try to turn the driveshaft. If she spins the transfer case is not locked into range. IF it does lock Id check the hubs.
Thank you sir. I was not sure at all on this situation if they were vac assisted, I guess only s10 blazers only have this terrible setup.

Old 12-29-2012, 07:36 AM