Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech Discuss any and all full size K5 general tech topics here.

Th350 swap help?

  #1  
Old 03-14-2017, 10:25 PM
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1
Kkazee is on a distinguished road
Default Th350 swap help?

I have a 92 k1500 full size blazer 5.7 4x4 and the stock trans (4L60E) is shot. A friend has a turbo 350 but it's 2wd, so I'm trying to find out what I would have to do to swap it into my truck, any info would be appreciated.
 
  #2  
Old 03-15-2017, 10:45 AM
Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North Central Indiana
Posts: 2,236
LesMyer is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by Kkazee View Post
I have a 92 k1500 full size blazer 5.7 4x4 and the stock trans (4L60E) is shot. A friend has a turbo 350 but it's 2wd, so I'm trying to find out what I would have to do to swap it into my truck, any info would be appreciated.
4L60E is an electronically controlled trans. 4WDs have output shafts specific to 4WD to fit into the transfer case. A 2WD TH350 is definitely wrong length and not electronically controlled. Probably doesn't fit transfer case, even if the TH350 was for a 4WD (which it isn't). PCM in the vehicle definitely won't like to not be controlling a transmission and torque converter. Torque converter probably won't be at right depth with your 1992 flex plate. Too many issues to overcome. Just buy another 4L60E, but get the right one. Sorry!
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-2017, 12:02 PM
chris015's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 3,748
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about
Default

You must have a late production 92' if it does have the 4l60e. (it has a round main harness plug,700r4 has square). The 4l60e didnt come out till early 93'. As far as the pcm goes,the 350 will shift correctly,but your speedo will be off and the engine lights will stay on. Now,you need to find what tcase you can use,not sure on the tcase personally. If the driveshaft will work,then you can find a ujoint to fit it at napa or spicer. The flexplate you have should be fine.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-2017, 01:27 PM
abig84's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: munster indiana
Posts: 3,426
abig84 will become famous soon enoughabig84 will become famous soon enough
Default

the vehicle speed sensor should be in the transfercase so if you can actually pull it off i would guess the speedometer would work but not sure with all the rest of electrical disconnected. just seems like more work then its worth. you can bring the th350 to a trans shop along with your transfer case and adapter and tell them to install a output shaft in the trans that will work for what you want, did that before.

i know when changing from a th350 to a 700r4 which is pretty much a 4l80 i had to change crossmembers and driveshafts also on my 84 k5 blazer.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
88Freddy
Engine & Transmission
5
04-15-2014 06:15 PM
payhellbay
Engine & Transmission
20
02-16-2013 11:12 AM
Razorburn71
Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain
18
05-15-2011 04:52 PM
Danno85
Engine & Transmission
1
03-13-2011 04:28 PM
mefast
Full Size K5 (1969-1991) GMT415 (1992-1994) Tech
7
02-02-2011 01:25 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Th350 swap help?


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.