General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

1st gen airbags?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2011, 05:30 AM
Oystein is on a distinguished road
Question 1st gen airbags?

Quick question: Did any of the first gen blazers come with airbags?

Old 07-21-2011, 06:18 AM
BF Guru
xgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura aboutxgiovannix12 has a spectacular aura about

Mine dosnt have any

Old 07-21-2011, 02:21 PM
neo71665 will become famous soon enoughneo71665 will become famous soon enough

thankfully no they didn't

Old 07-21-2011, 02:23 PM
tibby has a spectacular aura abouttibby has a spectacular aura about
Default .

Originally Posted by xgiovannix12
Mine dosnt have any
Doesn't that scare you? I am a wild driver but if anybody gets too close, I will do something about it since my 2nd gen only has the driver airbag. I know what a non-airbag seat does in a wreck, not pretty.

All credit goes to Latin NCAP. They own the video. (Had to say it, watch the first couple seconds of video and you understand)

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kav4epNjzeU[/youtube]

Last edited by tibby; 07-21-2011 at 02:36 PM. Reason: blah.
Old 07-21-2011, 02:47 PM
Starting Member
nineTnine is on a distinguished road

That has nothing to with airbags, its just a bad design. The fire wall is never supposed to come into the passenger compartment and the compartment isn't supposed to deform like that. Its nice to know airbags are there, just in case, but if the car isn't built well it wont matter. I hate to say it but this video reminds me of the Blazer crash test, which wasn't good either. I have no problems with airbags and I think they do much more good than bad but they aren't a get of of dead free card or anything. Seatbelts save lives. They don't call it "supplemental" restraint systems for nothing

Old 07-21-2011, 03:11 PM