General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

Anyone use Mobil 1 synthetic oil?

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2012, 01:23 PM
Beginning Member
TylerK10 is on a distinguished road
Default Anyone use Mobil 1 synthetic oil?

I got my Blazer last September with about 64,000 miles on it and have changed the oil once so far, which was when I started using the Mobil 1 synthetic oil (unsure what was in it previously). I've always been a 3,000 mile on the dot kind of guy, but this is my first time using synthetic, and despite how strange it feels to me that I just hit 5,000 miles on this oil change, it actually does still look pretty clean to me, so I'm unsure if I should change it now or wait until 6/7,000 like I've heard is recommended for the Mobil 1 synthetic.

I want the best for the engine (I'm not trying to get the most out of my money), but I almost feel like it really would be fine to go a bit longer. What do you guys think? Hell, I'd use this oil and still keep to a 3,000 mile cycle if that would actually make a difference for the engine.

(This is the regular Mobil 1 synthetic oil, not the extended performance version which is apparently guaranteed to go a ridiculous 15,000 miles before changing.)

Edit: I just went out and changed it anyway. After seeing it in the pan, it definitely needed it. Since my goal is to maintain the truck as best as possible, I think I'm gonna stick to the good ol' 3,000 interval, even with the Mobil 1 synthetic and premium filter setup.

Last edited by TylerK10; 06-01-2012 at 02:21 PM.
Old 06-02-2012, 04:19 PM
Starting Member
serrasalmus is on a distinguished road

i use mobile 1 synth high milage and do it every 5k

Old 06-02-2012, 04:41 PM
50lb_cat will become famous soon enough

+1, and I use wix filters

Old 06-03-2012, 10:42 AM
BF Veteran