General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

Here is the story on my Blazer

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2009, 06:44 PM
Beginning Member
Vince's04blazer is on a distinguished road
Default Here is the story on my Blazer

First off I'm new at this... So I have a 2004 Chevy Blazer 2dr 4x4. It has the stock 4.3L with 99,600 miles. I purchased it last year with 92,000 miles on it for $8500. When I bought the car I had the cv boot replaced from the dealership. After a month of having my first car the problems came flowing in. First I got a 100,000 mile tune up on it from my local chevy dealership(i know it only had 92,000 miles on it but it needed a tune up)... Then I went through a car wash and my driver side door was leaking through the top. So they changed the pins in the door. So next went the rear brakes... got those replaced. Now I need new front brakes. Just the other day I replaced the air filter that was black... even though the tune up that I got from my local chevy dealership said that I would get a new air filter. I also got new tires, mud flaps, pin stripes, bug guard, and spare tire cover. Now I love this truck because its my very first car... but now I'm thinking about slapping a for sale sign in it because of my gas mileage. 12 mpg city and 17 highway. Just yesterday I took a trip that was 266 miles round trip and only got 17.7 mpg on the interstate. How is this possible. One of my relatives has a 2000 trailblazer that has 80,000 miles on it and that get like 25 on the highway. WHAT IS GOING ON IN MY ENGINE? Any suggestions to boost my mpg? Now I don't know much about my truck under the hood because i'm only 17 but i'm sure i can do some simple things. Do you think the chevy dealership messed something up while doing the tune up?

Old 08-22-2009, 06:51 PM
BF Veteran