General Chat Chat about all things Blazer (and related vehicles). Off-topic stuff should be in the lounge, and all mechanical problems should be posted in the proper forum.

Why Do You Keep Buying Junky Blazers?

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2008, 09:23 AM
wienerdog is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Why Do You Keep Buying Junky Blazers?

Well, I don't think Blazers are junky or any worse than other makes. I've owned S10 Blazer/Jimmys for a decade. Not because of make loyalty but because its always a Blazer that fits the bill.
I use to be but am nolonger a car/truck guy. I'm a gun guy. I like guns, shooting and handloading and shoot in local competitions for fun so all I need is a veHicle that suites my needs. I've been driving for 36 years and have had all kinds of vehicles, my first was a 1959 El Camino, it had wings!
I've been buying S10s because (#1)they arerelativly cheap imean inexpensive.
Last month I was looking to retire my 92' Blazer 4x4 so I looked at and drove a number of vehicles. The Jap and Korean small 4x4s were really nice but a little too litein the assand really pricey for what you got. The Explorers I looked at had horrible brakes and lumbered around corners and had 16" wheels that I don't want bcuz tires cost alot more than 15's.Explores seemed to cost more than comparable Blazers/Jimmys.So back to Blazer/Jimmys.
To me I don't care what year it is. Idealy, I wanted to find a low mile pre-95' Blazer/Jimmy but no such luck so it was down to a 2002 Blazer and a 99' Jimmy both 4-door 4x4. The 02'Blazer with 110k mileswas $4995 and would need tires andworse, the interior stunk like the bad side of town....not something I can hack.