General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Wired Noise

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2006, 12:11 AM
oldchevron62 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Wired Noise

Hey folks im new to this and i got a problem with my Blazer. Its a 2004 Chevrolet Blazer Xtream with 68xxx. The deal is that when i take off and get to about 30 mph i hear a noise that sound like a prop job plane. It not very loud at all and It has the same tone all the way to up to top speed and doesnt get any louder. I thought it might be a wheel bearing but the steering feels tight. It drives stright as well. I Thought it might be the pinion bearing in the rear so i jack up the rear of the blazer and had my bro drive up to 40mph and i didnt hear no noise from there. Although i check the fluid in the rear and was low. I stuck my finger down the hole and i didnt feel fluid so i filled it till it poured out and took off and the noise is stil there. Any tips or tricks would be appreacted.

Old 11-13-2006, 11:45 AM
Canadian88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default RE: Wired Noise

If your brother drove it up to 40 and you didn't hear it, that tells me its coming from the front. Most likely its something in the bearing/wheel/tire area. Does it keep going at that speed on, or does it go away then come back when you shift?

BTW you might want to wear a helmet next time you get under a car thats doing 40 and not moving.

Old 11-13-2006, 01:54 PM
kornphlake is an unknown quantity at this point

I think I may have the same problem as you.