Headers, Intake, & Exhaust Custom Exhaust? New Headers? Need Opinions on Intakes? Discuss making your ride breathe better here.

Will 190 hp push a flowmaster 50?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2010, 03:47 PM
Beginning Member
Bullfrog2099 is on a distinguished road
Default Will 190 hp push a flowmaster 50?

Hey guys, I'm pretty new with adding performance parts. Was wondering if a flowmaster 50 delta would sound alright on 96 Blazer with the stock vortec v6 4.3- pushing 190 hp? Just planned on changing the muffler for good effect and not much else. Not going for an overaggressive sound of the 44, but was still wondering if just changing the muffler would make it significant enough to actually spend money on the stock v6- 4.3? Much appreciated.

Old 05-01-2010, 06:25 PM
BF Guru
rriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond reputerriddle3 has a reputation beyond repute

Look at my signature below and see what I have for a muffler. I like the sound, but that's about all you will get from a muffler. There is almost no power gain unless you add headers and possibly a cold air intake.

Old 05-01-2010, 07:32 PM
cbr995 will become famous soon enoughcbr995 will become famous soon enough

Butt dyno says 5 hp gain. ACTUAL dyno... probably nothing.

Old 05-02-2010, 12:33 AM
Beginning Member

Originally Posted by rriddle3
Look at my signature below and see what I have for a muffler. I like the sound, but that's about all you will get from a muffler. There is almost no power gain unless you add headers and possibly a cold air intake.
Thanks for the response. I was wondering if you just switched out the muffler and used the same stock tailpipe?