Lifting Tech This section is for suspension questions related to increasing the ride height of your vehicle.

Questions on Crank and Shackle

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2010, 04:07 PM
Beginning Member
ldzisme is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Questions on Crank and Shackle

Hey Guys. I was looking into doing a t bar crank and the shackles in the rear i just had a couple of questions. One how hard is this to do, also my truck needs new ball joints and shocks as it is right now so would it be a better choice to just go with the RC suspension lift? thanks.

Old 04-15-2010, 12:07 PM
Starting Member
dougg01 is on a distinguished road

Being an aging autocrosser and drag racer, I'm new to this, but just got done doing my lift in the manner you speak.....

First...check how many threads you have left on your t-bar bolts.... If they don't have many threads left (4 turns generally = 1") I'd look at getting some used T-bars out of low-mile salvage. New are expensive.

Second ....I did all four balljoints and new CV shafts at the same time (as well as shocks and swaybar bushings and new tie-rod grease cups (tie rods were still good). so, you doing that is a step in the right direction.

Third...I got my shackles off ebay and they were ~$80 w/ all new hardware. Solid pieces. The factory bolts can be siezed in the bushing sleeves. In hindsight, I'd been ahead to get new rear leaf bushings and just cut the bolts off.

Front and back - pressure wash everything first. Crud sucks.

Follow directions you read on here. Use jackstands. Be careful. Don't get ahead of yourself.

After pressure washing, PB blaster on any bolt you will touch. Do this every day or so starting the week before the work begins.

I did all the work in the equivalent of a weekend, but I strung it out over a week of evenings.