Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

led cluster bulbs

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2011, 10:15 AM
Starting Member
jayj99jimmy is on a distinguished road
Default led cluster bulbs

So i want to replace my bulbs in my cluster and any other place i possibly can with LED bulbs, such as 4wd switches, window switches, hvac, etc etc. anything using the stock offwhite dull color, whatever its supposed to be. I havnt decided on what color i want to do, but either way my question is what would happen if i just bought the LED's and put them in? i am not a pro-solderer, the sockets are reusable and i can buy LED bulbs that i can just put into the sockets and screw into the holes. do i need resistors? what could happen if i dont put a resistor on them? or instead of going this rought, if it may be easier, is it possible to buy the little condoms that go over the bulbs in other colors so i can just do that? i just want to change the color of the speedo numbers and all the other light up buttons in the cab and dont know what resistors to use or if they are really all that necessary. if the worst thing that is going to happen is the LED's are going to be really bright or wear out faster thats fine, i can just dim them or replace them?

thanks

Old 12-19-2011, 10:43 AM
Starting Member
chevyblazer9588 is on a distinguished road

If you find out anything let me know. That is what I want to do to my '95 Chevy S10 Blazer to switch all the lights inside of the Blazer to green leds.

Old 12-19-2011, 11:44 AM
Starting Member