Lighting & Electrical Post your lighting and chassis/engine electrical questions here. Any audio/video questions should be posted in the 'Audio/Video Electronics' section.

Starting issue. Assuming electrical.

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2013, 03:05 AM
GFiske is on a distinguished road
Default Starting issue. Assuming electrical.

So my buddy has a 99' Chevrolet Blazer I'm a tech at sears auto and am currently enrolled in an auto tech program but am still pretty green. He asked me to comeover and take a look at it his complaint was it won't start. He said he was having some overheating issues and checked his coolant overflow and it was empty and he bought some 50/50 antifreeze and filled it up. After he drove home and parked when he came out to start it next there was no click no dash lights nothing. When I arrived I started simple with the battery with my multimeter which showed 12.36 volts maybe a little low on charge but nothin major. I don't think that the overheating or low antifreeze should have an affect but to be sure I took the radiator cap off and found it about half a gallon low and filled it. As expected no change. I then popped the fuse box and began ohming ignition fuses which all checked out. I was pretty much out of ideas but for one last ditch effort I did try to jump it just incase of a short causing a voltage drop but this also failed. My buddies 98' Toyota T100 had an identical problem and was fixed by simply replacing the neutral safety switch. Could this be the same issue? My two best guesses are neutral safety switch or the ignition switch if anyone has input I would appreciate it very much I won't just throw parts at it. Thank you for any assistance.

Old 10-13-2013, 01:23 PM
BF Veteran
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about