Notices
The Lounge For casual talk about things unrelated to Blazers (ie. Off-Topic).

Oil change

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2010, 04:36 PM
Starting Member
gmbwrenchn is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Oil change

2005 Jetta. 2.0 Ltr. Using Castrol 5W-40 Synthetic, year round. Summer AND winter. How long can I typically go on an oil change with this oil? Thanks. Like to hear a couple of opinions on this.

Old 11-09-2010, 07:17 PM
BF Veteran
abig84 will become famous soon enoughabig84 will become famous soon enough

i was a fleet manager for about 10 years. vehicles numbered anywhere from about 8-16. did oil changes every 10,000 miles with sams club certified oil. never had any engine related failure ever. two cars even reached 600,000 miles. i always tell people that and they call me crazy lol. we used to used synthetic when i first started there but the boss got cheap. i been putting the same stuff in my trucks since i left there about 3 years ago and still no problems. so with better oil you should be fine

Old 11-09-2010, 07:19 PM
01vortec is an unknown quantity at this point

I usually do between 5,000 and 7,000. anything less is really a waste of money.

Old 11-09-2010, 07:28 PM
cbr995 will become famous soon enoughcbr995 will become famous soon enough

I go about 5,000 miles on Synthetic. That's what the usual interval is.

Old 11-09-2010, 09:01 PM
BF Veteran
MTopper will become famous soon enough

i run mobil 1 and do it every 6-8000. lasted the last 40K miles no problem. i do have a catalytic converter bad but thats unrelated

Old 11-10-2010, 05:11 AM
Silver00LT is on a distinguished road

I do 3k on Castrol. I need to get a oil sample kit send it out and get it diagnose. If everything looks good I will bump it up in to 4500. It is not syn. As the truck had 130k when I bought it.

Old 11-10-2010, 07:35 PM
BF Veteran
DKSDAD is a jewel in the roughDKSDAD is a jewel in the roughDKSDAD is a jewel in the rough

I usually go 5-6000 miles on Mobil 1.