Lowering Tech This section is for suspension questions related to decreasing the ride height of your vehicle.

Lowering my 4X4 2000 Jimmy

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 06:26 PM
Beginning Member
gstxtt is on a distinguished road
Default Lowering my 4X4 2000 Jimmy

I'm looking to lower my truck 1" thats all I want. I'm gonna do the front with the torsion bars and the back with blocks. Do i need shocks? My Dad thinks that it will mess up my front axle yokes. CV joints?. It looks like they're bending down at stock height so wouldnt an inch level it out and decrease wear? Well any insight would be appreciated because i'm totally new to the whole truck thing. My last car was an Eagle talon so having a truck is a little disorientating.... well whatever enough of that. Thanks for the help. Appreciate it.

Old 04-07-2009, 06:41 PM
BF Veteran
TripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond reputeTripleBlackBlazer has a reputation beyond repute

You will be fine with 1" if that's all you want to go. I would say shocks are unnecessary at that little amount of drop. I lowered my old neighbor's Bravada by backing the torsion bar bolts all the way out and 3" angled drop blocks. I told him he needs drop shocks but refuses to get them. Guess he likes having limited suspension travel and feeling every bump in the road.

I have a feeling 1" isn't going to be enough for you once you see it.

Pics coming soon.

Last edited by TripleBlackBlazer; 04-07-2009 at 06:49 PM.
Old 04-07-2009, 06:57 PM
Beginning Member