Lowering Tech This section is for suspension questions related to decreasing the ride height of your vehicle.

pre drop advice?

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 01:11 AM
DLslotster is an unknown quantity at this point
Default pre drop advice?

[align=left]I just ordered the stuff to do a 3/4 drop on the blazer. Lower control arms, blocks, new rear shocks. Doing this myself and I've never done it before so any pre drop advice would be nice. I've heard it's not too rough tho so we'll see.
[/align]

Old 11-13-2007, 02:08 AM
BF Veteran
thegr81 is on a distinguished road
Default RE: pre drop advice?

Take your time with it first of all!! When doing the lower control arms I take it they are the drop cup style?? Well when doing them just

remember the spring is under tension so when taking the lower arm off first place a jack under the control arm to keep it from blowing out. Then

loosen the castle nut on the lower arm's ball joint keep the nut on but loosen it. Then take some of the tension off the spring by lowering the jack a

little bit but make sure its still on the arm controlling its drop. take a small sledge hammer and smack the side of ball joint to break it loose ( it will

pop) then take the nut off and start to slowly lower the control arm with the jack. When its all the way down then take the spring out and unbolt the

lower control arm the rest of the way, put the new one in, then the spring, jack it up a little but to were you can get the ball joint back into the spindle tighten it up and repeat for the other side.

As for the rear jack up the rear and place jack stands on the frame rails (break lugs loose before jacking up). Take the tires off then take out the bump stop undo the 4 u-bolts, grab drop block and new u-bolts put back together, repeat for other side.

You will see that it is really easy once you start getting dirty. Then you will have yourself saying next stop bags and pavement!!!!!

Hope this is helpful for you!!!