New Member Area Are you new to Blazer Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

1977 K5 Restoration Help Needed

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2021, 01:34 PM
Hb77 is on a distinguished road
Default 1977 K5 Restoration Help Needed

I am new here, but maybe someone could take the time to help me.

I am about to buy a 77 K5 with a small block 400 in it, it's been sitting for about 18 years. Before that it ran and drove, so there's no up front major problems that I know of.
The reason I am posting this is that I am by no means a mechanic, though I have done plenty of work on my other vehicles. So what I am asking is what are the steps you all would take at restoring this truck? Obviously that is a tough question since you all aren't here with the truck, but just a basic checklist of things to start with or check on would be a huge help if anyone has the time.

Thank you!

Old 08-20-2021, 03:17 PM
BF Veteran
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough

Really depends on what kind of "restoration" you are talking about. Are you just looking to get it moving and stopping? As reliable as possible for any type of trip? Wanting to fix dents and dings/fix up the interior? Make it like new with everything working the way it should? Make a few modifications along the way?

Most parts should be readily available, from cosmetic to body, interior and mechanical, so you've got that going for you!

Old 08-25-2021, 03:06 PM

Thank you for the reply!

I want to make it into my daily driver first and foremost, so reliably running and driving is my first step. And along the way I would like to do a lift and some bigger tires for a bit of offroading, but that is not as much a priority for now (however if there are steps I can take more easily toward that end while getting it in shape again I would love to know).

Old 08-25-2021, 09:26 PM
BF Veteran