New Member Area Are you new to Blazer Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Been a Long Time

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2021, 09:35 PM
Beginning Member
forestghost07 is on a distinguished road
Default Been a Long Time

Hi friends, I feel like a newbie here
I'm a bit ashamed to admit this is my 1st visit in 8 years; I still have my '99 Blazer (just 90,000 mi. on it) but 2 other car brands took over my life and pushed Blazer into semi-hiding under a tree. Driven less than 2000 miles since 2013. The 2 other brands are classic British sports cars, Triumph and MG; I now have a busy shop to care and feed and preserve them.

I'm now hoping to use Blazer as a tow vehicle and trying to restart the love I had for it (orig. owner and it was a custom build order, 1 of a kind). I'm faced with so many electrical and body issues it's exhausting just thinking about it; every repair is gonna be a PITA Im sure, and some Blazer parts are discontinued.

As an auto tech who deals with the quirks of 40 - 70 yr old handmade cars, I try to work things out myself but I may need Blazer help from you guys as I attempt to get it close to like new again. Some of the probs:

HVAC air intake and evaporator clogged w/ 20 yrs of leaves and dirt (I'm farming this one out to another shop) ... needs frt wheel bearings (4TH TIME) ... A/C compressor (5TH TIME!!!) ... window motor and switch ... power seat switch (cost is outrageous) ...rear window wiper motor ... all 8 speakers rotted ... bad rain leak, water goes under driver side carpet ... on and on. I won't even dare try the sunroof LOL.

So wish me luck, I'll try to post my progress and anything I learn, everyone stay well!

Old 05-03-2021, 10:19 PM
BF Veteran
AJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the roughAJBert is a jewel in the rough

Welcome back and good luck with bring the Blazer back to it's former glory.

Old 05-04-2021, 02:54 AM
error_401 is on a distinguished road

Welcome back.