New Member Area Are you new to Blazer Forum? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

New From Northern Michigan

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2010, 11:19 AM
Banned
assklown is on a distinguished road
Exclamation New From Northern Michigan

Hello all. I'm from nothern michigan (about 30 miles south from the bridge...that makes me a troll!)

I've got a 1996 Blazer LT 4 door 4wd with the 4.3. Age is starting to catch up to my baby.

I just took it to the shop to have a few things looked at and got an estimate (from a dealer mind you) of 1793 to fix a hand full of things wrong.

I work in the technology sector (computers, servers, printers, wiring, networks, etc) and am tired of paying someone to fix some of these things that go wrong. I am very mechanically savvy and can trouble shoot with the best of them in this area. Technology and cars are really not that different logically. Get a good set of directions, take your time and you can be successful.

I also love tools and gadgets. Power tools are the best.

Being a novice at cars I do have a couple of questions based on the report back I got from the dealership. Here is what they wrote:

Check delayed trans engagement. Had to add about 1 quart. Road test - scan check - check transmission function ok - Problem is trans fluid leaking into T-case adapter seal failure - estimate to replace 420 includes new adapter gasket seal, fluid.

GM Multi-point Inspection

Has loose steering idler arm/pitman arm est 448, engine oil cooler lines leaking est 335, lower intake leaking est 448, needs drivers door pins and bushing est 142
Based on that information what sort of tools will I need to pick up and how difficult are some of those to fix? I love excuses to buy tools. I have very little as far as car related tools would go. . .

Which is the most important to fix in order? I am on a limited budget after all.

Old 06-10-2010, 11:37 AM
Blazer Forum 2009 Ride of the Year Winner