Off Roading Got a story about taking your Blazer off the paved roads? This is your section!

Hi-Lift Jack & tow strap

Old 08-12-2013, 05:02 PM
UrbanWild is on a distinguished road
Default Hi-Lift Jack & tow strap

I am new to off-roading and need to buy a hi-lift jack and tow strap as part of my safety equipment. I have a 2000 Chevy Blazer LT with Destination AT tires. Can anyone tell my how many inches the jack should be (42", 48", or 60"), and if this tow strap is acceptable:
Amazon.com: CargoLoc 82494 2-Inch by 20-Feet Emergency Tow Strap with Hooks: Home Improvement Amazon.com: CargoLoc 82494 2-Inch by 20-Feet Emergency Tow Strap with Hooks: Home Improvement

Thanks!

Old 08-12-2013, 05:13 PM
Twip will become famous soon enough

i have no idea on the high lift as i dont have one, nor have i used/seen one in use.
as far as the strap, i have heard bad things about those hooks that come with straps. personally, i would get a strap with the loops in it, and just use some good shackles. waaay safer, plus the shackle cant fall off whatever its attached to, as long as its not the stock tow hooks on these 4x4's. which i have also heard arent the greatest thing to use when recovering the car. just my .02
i have seen guys on here make up shackle mounts that replace the front tow hooks. if it were me, thats what i would do.

Old 08-12-2013, 05:23 PM
Talking

Originally Posted by Twip View Post
i have heard bad things about those hooks that come with straps. personally, i would get a strap with the loops in it, and just use some good shackles.
Are shackles those u-things with the bolts? (sorry--I'm just learning so I probably sound like a bonehead!)

Old 08-12-2013, 05:26 PM
Twip will become famous soon enough

yeah they are. heres one that you cant loose the pin for.