Sights N Sounds Post Pictures, Videos, and Sound clips here. Examples: Member signature threads, photo shoots, videos (that do not fit in other sections), etc.

New Interior Lights

  #1  
Old 07-13-2015, 08:43 PM
99LS4x4ryanlw's Avatar
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 115
99LS4x4ryanlw is on a distinguished road
Default New Interior Lights

I'm back after a long hiatus...
A couple weeks ago a buddy of mine helped me install a LED light strip under the dash for night driving. They are just some red LEDs on a light strip with 3M double stick tape on the back, of which didn't stick worth a crap to the plastic. I ended up having to use a combination of other double stick craft foam and super glue...
The lights are wired from the side marker lights in the fuse panel to its own switch under the dash. We decided to wire them that way so that as long as my lights are off, so are the LEDs no matter if the LED switch is on or off (since I disabled my DRL and automatic headlights). Gives the cabin a different atmosphere at night for sure.
[IMG][/IMG]
 
Attached Thumbnails New Interior Lights-100_1270.jpg  
  #2  
Old 07-13-2015, 11:56 PM
Thogert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 4,314
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about
Default

Looks good man.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-2015, 06:34 AM
New Member
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 88
truc.karl is on a distinguished road
Default

Looks good. Where did you get your LED light strip? Planning to do the same mod but with blue or white light.
 
  #4  
Old 08-20-2015, 06:10 PM
99LS4x4ryanlw's Avatar
Starting Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Near Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 115
99LS4x4ryanlw is on a distinguished road
Default

Originally Posted by truc.karl View Post
Looks good. Where did you get your LED light strip? Planning to do the same mod but with blue or white light.
I didn't actually order them, my buddy did because we wanted to do both my Blazer and his '76 Chevy. I'm assuming he ordered them off of ebay or something. I know lightingever.com has LED strips that are fairly cheap, could give them a look too I suppose
 
  #5  
Old 08-24-2015, 05:45 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
  #6  
Old 08-26-2015, 03:24 PM
Thogert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 4,314
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about
Default

Superbrightleds is a little expensive, but I still have pretty much every led that I ordered from them (minus the ones that left with the blazer) and they all still work perfectly. Including ones just hanging under my bike exposed to the elements and everything, instrument cluster leds that aren't meant for outdoors either.
 
  #7  
Old 03-09-2016, 06:12 PM
Beginning Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 16
Dyspayre is on a distinguished road
Default

Please help... I got a pair like these from walmart. maybe $20-30 bucks. no biggie.. but I thought I'd wire them to the fuse box and attach them to the headlight fuse, so when I turn on my lights at night the lights will come on. But when I pull the fuse, ONLY the beeping sound goes off, not the lights. So my question is how best to wire these for a novice? because if the headlights won't turn off by removing the fuse I don't know where to attach the power. ty
 
  #8  
Old 03-09-2016, 09:47 PM
Thogert's Avatar
BF Veteran
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Utah
Posts: 4,314
Thogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura aboutThogert has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'd wire them to the interior light plugs under the dash, or to a switch.
 
  #9  
Old 03-10-2016, 10:03 PM
richphotos's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,861
richphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the roughrichphotos is a jewel in the rough
Default

Yup, I would wire them to the interior plugs under the dash, or get a add-a-fuse and hook it up to a fuse that is 12v constant with the ignition on and have that wired into a switch that is mounted on the dash.
 
  #10  
Old 03-11-2016, 11:02 PM
Beginning Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lexington, Ky
Posts: 16
Dyspayre is on a distinguished road
Default

thanks. I was really hoping to have it connected to my headlights when i turn them on, i guess my fuse box is messed up.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: New Interior Lights


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.