Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Installing a 4x4

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2013, 04:45 PM
Beginning Member
Hagies is on a distinguished road
Default Installing a 4x4

Hey guys, so...long story short...I purchased a "4wd" 1998 chevy blazer from a buy here pay here lot, THOUGHT it was 4x4 as it had all of the buttons and what not (sounds stupid now that I think back), well turns out they sold it to me without all of the 4x4 parts, everything missing except for the T case... But i got them to take off $1500 so technically I got the truck for $1500.

Now, i'm new to the whole 4x4 world, I have some what of a list of parts to get. I just dont know how exactly to install them or if I have all of the parts on my list.

My buddy told me I need:

-Front diff
-CV Joints
-the vacuum and hoses
-drive shaft

Seems too simple to be true, is that all I really need to pull? Plan on pulling from a you pull and pay lot.

Thanks for ANY help I can get haha

Old 10-10-2013, 06:30 PM
Starting Member
RJ2004 is on a distinguished road

If I were you, I'd search the forum and learn all the components of the 4wd system(s), then compare to what you already have. That way you can see what parts you need.

I hope this helps.

Old 10-10-2013, 06:39 PM
coolasice will become famous soon enough

I would question why it was removed in the first place...and if there is no CV axles what is keeping the hubs together? is it a 3button or 4 button unit?

Old 10-16-2013, 12:11 PM
Beginning Member

Originally Posted by coolasice
I would question why it was removed in the first place...and if there is no CV axles what is keeping the hubs together? is it a 3button or 4 button unit?