Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

loud clicking/humming from front end

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2008, 04:23 PM
Beginning Member
second97 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default loud clicking/humming from front end

so im a little new to the whole blazer thing ive been driving 2.2s10s for the past 4 years. basically i decieded to pick up a 99 4x4 jimmy. any time im doing highway speeds for an extended period of time there is a loud clicking/humming from the front end. sort of sounds like i ran over a gxsr and its caught under the front end. i didnt know what it was so the third time it happened i was on the highway and thought it would be a good idea to throw it in neutral and rev it. i guess i hit the rev limiter too hard because it spun a bearing. so now im rebuilding the engine and am trying to figure out the front end noise at the same time. i dont know if it is something with the hubs? are they vacuum actuated? the truck has roughly 120,xxx miles any help would be greatly appreciated.

Old 07-24-2008, 12:18 PM
Beginning Member
Default RE: loud clicking/humming from front end

what? no one has any input

Old 07-24-2008, 07:41 PM
Starting Member
Yooper is an unknown quantity at this point

I have had this same problem. Does the noise go away when yuou slow back down to around 25 MPH? Mine does, I still haven't been able to figure it out.

Old 07-24-2008, 07:45 PM
Tippman7641 is an unknown quantity at this point

could be a ball bering mine would only do it avbove like 20 when i turned slightly

Old 07-26-2008, 06:34 AM
Beginning Member

its actually a little weird it will stop below like 35. and if i go back up any higher that that it starts up again. and it hasnt caused any problems like that yet?

Old 08-05-2008, 09:39 AM
klausjohn1142 is an unknown quantity at this point