Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Lower control arm repair

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2015, 02:16 PM
95blazerfrank is on a distinguished road
Default Lower control arm repair

I'm new to any kind of suspension repair, and I have a question, for any one to answer. I have to repair the lower control arm on the passenger side of my blazer. Do I need to list both sides of the vehicle to do any of the work on it do I need to listen both sides vehicle youtube any of the work on it

Old 08-18-2015, 03:20 PM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

Lower control arm work is dangerous. It needs to be done using the correct procedures and tools. Is the vehicle 2WD or 4WD? What exactly do you need to repair/replace?

Old 08-18-2015, 11:09 PM
Default The damage

The lower control arm and the hub housing/steering knuckle. The lower back joint broke the knuckle, at the same time breaking the control arm. It's 4wd

Attached Thumbnails Lower control arm repair-kimg0042.jpg   Lower control arm repair-kimg0041.jpg   Lower control arm repair-kimg0040.jpg  
Old 08-19-2015, 04:32 AM
Captain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the roughCaptain Hook is a jewel in the rough

The knuckle and lower ball joint replacement is straight forward, however, tension on the torsion bar MUST be completely unloaded before removing the lower control arm. This tool will safely hold the torsion bar in place while you loosen the adjuster bolt: OTC GM Torsion Bar Unloading Tool OTC7822A: Advance Auto Parts The tool is available on their loan-a-tool program. After the parts are installed, front chassis ride height must be adjusted, and a wheel alignment is necessary.

Old 08-19-2015, 10:28 AM