Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Mysterious grease around front-passenger axle (2002, 4WD, 2-Door)

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2019, 10:33 AM
Starting Member
RedValor is on a distinguished road
Default Mysterious grease around front-passenger axle (2002, 4WD, 2-Door)

I was doing some routine checks under my vehicle and I noticed there is some serious grease build up around the front-passenger axle.
I have some comparison photo between the left and right side of my front axle to show.

I also noticed that the front differential is also slowly dripping grease. I rarely use 4WD if not at all, but I have recently engaged it a couple weeks ago.
I'll engage 4WD from time to time off the pavement just to get the gear turning once in a while so nothing could seize up.

I'm still relatively new to this and I'm not sure what kind of maintance a 4WD system needs.

Front Passenger

Front Driver

Front Differential

Last edited by RedValor; 02-25-2019 at 10:50 AM.
Old 02-25-2019, 10:58 AM
Administrator
swartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond reputeswartlkk has a reputation beyond repute