Steering, Suspension & Drivetrain Questions about your steering, suspension, axles, and/or transfer case? Post up here.

Problem with rear axle shaft, need imput please!

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2010, 10:39 AM
Beginning Member
Nathan007 is on a distinguished road
Default Problem with rear axle shaft, need imput please!

Hey all,

This is my first post on this forum!

I'm currently working on my mother's 1999 Chevy Blazer LT 4x4, it's my first time around this truck, well, around any truck ever. I am currently replacing a rear axle seal (near the wheel) because it was seriously leaking. I noticed alot of play also, in the passenger side axle (rear of course, same side as the seal). I managed to remove both shafts and found out this;

This is the driver side axle, at the bearing portion

Now, this is the passenger side axle, bearing portion again

Now, this doesnt look very normal to me.. But since i've never touched anything like this, i'm not sure. The groove looks machined this way, but is that possible?
Is it possible it was eaten-up with time? Should i get a new one? By the way, there was alot of metal "dust" on the differential cover magnet.

Also, regarding the leaky axle seal, is it possible that alot of it got on the caliper? At first i tought the caliper was leaking since everything was covered with juice (caliper, bracket, disc, pads, wheel..), but after some thinking maybe the disc got soaked by the leaking diff. fluid and with the car running it got splashed everywhere.

Please help me at least figure out if the axle is good of bad before i install new bearings/seals!!

Thanks alot!

Old 08-13-2010, 10:42 AM
Administrator