2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

4x4 switch has no power, 4wd not working

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2017, 06:44 PM
Beginning Member
Matthew Ackerson is on a distinguished road
Default 4x4 switch has no power, 4wd not working

Hey guys I'm a newbie with this electronic 4wd systems. Recently I had a 2000 Blazer given to me, really good shape, little to no rust, clean and only 125k. Currently the 4wd selector switch has no power, it doesn't light up and the buttons do nothing when pressed. It has a 3 button switch. The #15 fuse is good and doesn't appear to be burned or damaged. I'm gonna have a look tomorrow at the connector on the TCCM and see what it looks like. I know this switch get's power from the TCCM, so my question is, that if the TCCM has no power, what do I do from there ?? TCCM is brand new from AUTOZONE but was installed by the previous owner. Thanks guys, PB

Old 01-16-2017, 07:28 PM
gxmiller is on a distinguished road

I just went through this with a 1999 Blazer I bought cheap but the 4wd didn't work. I found some info on this site. I also have a working 1998 and swapped out the 4wd selector from it and it was black in the 1999. I went to the TCCM behind the passenger kick panel, and I found voltage going in on pins C4 and C5 when I pressed the 4wd selector. I also checked that C10, D10, D12 and D13 were continuous to ground. So the TCCM should have been working. I found a used one cheap on ebay, it arrived last week and now the 4wd works!

If your TCCM does not have power, and the fuses are good you may be looking at a wiring issue.

Old 01-17-2017, 03:41 AM
Starting Member
Kenneth Bauguess is on a distinguished road
Default may have the fix for you.

Originally Posted by Matthew Ackerson