Adding Double Din is not hard at all!!!!!! - Page 2 - Blazer Forum - Chevy Blazer Forums


Closed Thread
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #11  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:58 PM
Poh's Avatar
Poh Poh is offline
Beginning Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Berrien Springs, People's republic of Michiganistan, Socialist states of American
Posts: 35
Poh is on a distinguished road
Default

yep my double din bezel just arrived today. got it off ebay for $65
  #12  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:21 PM
Beginning Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 21
hfxblazer is on a distinguished road
Default

Good luck with your install.



I don't know why the bezals are so cheap down here. but in nova scotia canada they sell for $25 if you can find one. I do know of one more for sale and i believe they ship all over the world in case any ones looking for one.

vance haynes auto parts
1-800-565-2433

Last edited by hfxblazer; 03-25-2011 at 08:22 PM. Reason: mistake
  #13  
Old 03-25-2011, 10:25 PM
Poh's Avatar
Poh Poh is offline
Beginning Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Berrien Springs, People's republic of Michiganistan, Socialist states of American
Posts: 35
Poh is on a distinguished road
Default

actually it is not going well. Best buy sold me the wrong wire kit....... didn't figure it out until after I soldered and shrink tubed the wires...... it said 1998-2008 GM on it.

I don't suppose you measured your straps before you finalized everything........
  #14  
Old 03-27-2011, 04:10 PM
Poh's Avatar
Poh Poh is offline
Beginning Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Berrien Springs, People's republic of Michiganistan, Socialist states of American
Posts: 35
Poh is on a distinguished road
Default

its in and works. the only thing I did different than you is I soldered everything and put my micro switch for the screen in the dash bezel.
  #15  
Old 03-27-2011, 04:41 PM
Beginning Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 20
Gary99 is on a distinguished road
Default

looks great! but one question - Wher did you get the double din bezel?
I have been searching with no luck.
  #16  
Old 03-27-2011, 04:51 PM
Poh's Avatar
Poh Poh is offline
Beginning Member

 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Berrien Springs, People's republic of Michiganistan, Socialist states of American
Posts: 35
Poh is on a distinguished road
Default

I got mine off ebay. there are several listed on car-parts.com
  #17  
Old 03-27-2011, 11:11 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 76
Peco is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I agree its not that hard, did mine about 2 years ago. You just have to find a bezel from a S10 that had a RDS radio.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Double Din is not hard at all!!!!!!-navigation2.jpg  
  #18  
Old 03-27-2011, 11:29 PM
cbr995's Avatar
Super Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 1,915
cbr995 will become famous soon enoughcbr995 will become famous soon enough
Default

I need to do this. Man I want a touchscreen...
  #19  
Old 04-01-2011, 01:38 AM
nineTnine's Avatar
Starting Member

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 198
nineTnine is on a distinguished road
Default

I finally found the right color bezel for my Blazer, going to pay through the nose for it but oh well . I'm concerned about how difficult a touchscreen navigation Pioneer will be to wire up and how it should be done (connections). Can anyone give me some insight from their installs?
  #20  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:04 PM
jpimp's Avatar
Starting Member

 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 165
jpimp is on a distinguished road
Default Did mine last year

I got my double din dash bezel from a crunched 05 blazer at a junk yard for 20 bux.
I got the double din trim piece from future shop here in Canada. It cost like 20 bux, but all the other ones in stores here were crap.
Go to wall-mart for the wiring harness, comes with antenna adapter for like 12 bux.
Then just a few hours of time and in she goes, and the face plate can still be removed with no issues.
Centering it perfectly was harder though, I still want to move it over just slightly.

I didn't like the look of the mic on the steering wheel so I put it next to the fog light switch; works good, and looks good.

No picture of the GPS receiver but I put it on the dash nicley up against the windsheild can't even see it when driving.

A nice full size screen would have been nice in there...but for 200 bux, brand new in box from best buy, I couldn't pass that up. A full size with navi and blu tooth would have been around 1,000 and i'm in school right now.
Attached Thumbnails
Adding Double Din is not hard at all!!!!!!-dsc03065.jpg   Adding Double Din is not hard at all!!!!!!-dsc03070.jpg  

Last edited by jpimp; 04-01-2011 at 04:21 PM.
 
 
Closed Thread

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double din screen for single din hole? Anyone used one msu12 Audio/Video Electronics 3 10-31-2012 08:43 AM
Single din to Double din possibilty? julioAKAjunior Audio/Video Electronics 6 10-09-2012 12:29 PM
adding a double din i have some questions. bobby099 Audio/Video Electronics 5 05-01-2012 10:30 AM
1996 blazer... DIN and a half? Or double DIN? Arthur Audio/Video Electronics 7 03-20-2008 06:42 PM


Tags
1995, 1996, 4dr, 99, bezel, blazer, chevy, din, double, dual, fit, gmc, jimmy, put, radio, sidekick, suzuki

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.