1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Rear Glass Won't Pop

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2016, 08:00 AM
asc
asc is on a distinguished road
Default Rear Glass Won't Pop

Newbie here and I read through the other posts but didn't find what I was looking for.

I've got a 94 Full Size 2 door Blazer. My rear window will open on the hatch and my tailgate works as well. My issue is that the glass does not "pop" open when using the switch. Power is not an issue as I know it works due to the fact that if the switch is held open, the glass can be lifted but another person in the back. However, it's pretty difficult to hold the switch in the front and lift the gate at the rear simultaneously.

Does anyone have an idea as to what may be the problem and a potential solution? Would love to not have to always use the key in order to get in the back if at all possible.

Old 04-29-2016, 12:50 PM
Beginning Member
kwbond is on a distinguished road

I was having same issue...noticed the catch was very dirty so I sprayed lube all over latch. Waited an hour repeated then it started working great...

Old 04-29-2016, 08:42 PM
Starting Member
2004 Blazer is on a distinguished road
Default Same here

Originally Posted by kwbond
I was having same issue...noticed the catch was very dirty so I sprayed lube all over latch. Waited an hour repeated then it started working great...
I used the two letter two digit fish oil spray on my S 10 with positive results.

Old 05-10-2016, 06:59 AM
asc

Thanks guys. I've definitely lubed it enough and even cleaned the latch but it's still not popping the glass up as I would've hoped. Hopefully I can figure out a fix that works.

Old 10-22-2016, 12:36 AM
Maelstrom is on a distinguished road