1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

4.3 Z and W swaps

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2012, 09:36 AM
Mag-300 is on a distinguished road
Default 4.3 Z and W swaps

I am trying to open this can of worms and maybe help others while be helped my self(possibly).
The message written below has been copied from another post I messed up titled shouldn't there be fuel pressure.

Sorry it took so long.

The Blazer I have been working on for the last 2 years is a 88 s-10.It was drug off the side of a hill for parts for my 91.
In my garage sat a 92 4.3 vortec begging for my attention.
Again I never intended to do anything with it other than sell it or part it out.
I had heard terrible things about the CPFI system and everyone wanted the 88 fixed up...have no idea why.
My idea was to install a TBFI system on a W engine.The best of both worlds.Smooth running engine with a bullet proof fuel system ,like my 91.
So I rebuilt the engine and did just that.
Note:this was my first rebuild.
It ran great but would fall on it's face at 1600 rpm's.Here in WV that can be dangerous.
Remember everything from front to rear is NEW.PC and pump included.
After checking everything dozens of times I finally decided that the cam and heads were just to much for the TBFI system .
After careful consideration and hundreds of dollars later I installed the dreaded CPFI.I figured I have a 95 with the TBFI on it but it is very ill,so maybe just use those parts on it after I removed them (TBFI).
Now when installing a CPFI system in an older s-10 you have to start at the rear.You gotta change the fuel pump and sending unit.Got Delphi stuff from Rock Auto along with all the other parts including AC Delco fuel injectors and gaskets.
You have to make NEW fuel lines and change the wiring harness under the hood.Best to do that after removing the manifold and distributor.