1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

92 Jimmy 4.3 vortec overheating

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2012, 10:20 PM
Beginning Member
slimshany6 is on a distinguished road
Default 92 Jimmy 4.3 vortec overheating

Ok this is my first time on here Got a 92 jimmy with the 4.3 vortec runs great starts just fine one of the smoothest running vortec motors I have had.(after the tune up and me fixing the spyder the previous owner put in wrong, forgot the o rings on the fuel lines that feed the spyder) But the thing keeps overheating. Put a new t-stat in it and still it won't open thought at first it was just the digital dash messing up but when it flashes you can smell it no water in oil so I am stuck. going to pull the t-stat in the morning to see if that stops it but winter will be back again and I will need heat so that will only be a temporary fix. You can hear the seal release on the radiator cap when you open it hot. The previous owner said it sat in his neighbors feild for close to 5yrs and never moved untill he bought it. What am I missing??? Could it be water pump???

Last edited by slimshany6; 05-28-2012 at 07:55 PM.
Old 05-27-2012, 09:15 PM
Beginning Member
Default 92 jimmy still overheating