1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

93 Jimmy Surges At Idle and Poor Fuel Economy

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 11:40 PM
Kenomee is on a distinguished road
Default 93 Jimmy Surges At Idle and Poor Fuel Economy

Hello!

I've been researching this problem for a little while now, and I'm just getting into trying to fix these problems myself so I'm a bit new to this.

My Jimmy has two problems which may or may not be related. When I start it up, it surges when idling and at times it even has trouble starting. When the truck warms up it runs great, although I eventually get a 'running rich' code, 45. Getting about 200 miles to a tank which I think it could be doing better.

I think it may be the EGR valve that's causing the surging, but haven't checked it yet. I'm not sure if that could also be causing the poor fuel economy. Due to other problems with the truck beforehand, I have replaced the knock and oxygen sensors which made it run better than it did before. This is the only problem I have left.

It is a W type engine, 4.3L vortec, only around 119k miles.

Any suggestions would be most welcome!

Old 01-12-2011, 12:09 AM
Starting Member
JustJerry is on a distinguished road

My 92 is doing something similar, but it wants to idle real high. It threw a 45 code. I pulled the computer to check some wires that seemed to check out OK. I replaced the TPS and it still does it. Since them it has not threw the code again, yet if I drive it and get it warmed up it idles very high.

The weather has had me shut down and unable to fool with it the last several days.

For what its worth I've been told that a code 45 can be anyone of these.

Fuel pressure, injector leakage, HEI Ign shelding, canister plurge valve. coolant sensor, map sensor, tps sensor, 02 sensor contamination, Egr Valve stuck open and large vacumn leaks.

Old 01-12-2011, 04:44 PM
Administrator