1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

94' 4.3 v6 Blazer Idleing issues etc....

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2013, 06:42 PM
Beginning Member
T3hButcher is on a distinguished road
Question 94' 4.3 v6 Blazer Idleing issues etc....

Hey guys, new user here.

First off, hats off for the awesome forum site.

I am not a master mechanic by any means, I'm a metal fabrcator/welder, and do my own oil changes, brakes, belts, and routine maintenance. So I'm not illiterate on the subject but I really need some sound advice, so here goes:

I just bought a 94 Blazer Tahoe LT edition, 4.3 v6, 275,000 miles... (ahem)

Got it for a grand, it runs good, the 4x4 high and low still work, all the power seats, lights mirrors and crap still work pretty good.

I have a couple concerns but for now the most immediate is fixing the idle. Since purchasing it, at idle it would occasionally act as if it was going to stall and sometimes it will, in park, or waiting at a light in gear. Give a little throttle and its fine, so temporary fix I wrapped some tape around the idler arm since there is no way to adjust the idler screw. This worked for a while, then I was experiencing high idle, making it hard to stop and really rough putting the vehicle into gear. Assuming the plunger moved and got stuck again.

A former mechanic at Autozone said his first guess would be the idle air control valve, which made since when I took it apart the plunger did not move freely, was seized, and looked original. I bought the part and installed it, Instantly I noticed a lower and smoother idle, shifted into gear just fine, after a block or so it started idling really low again, stalling or wanting to stall.

Where do I go from here so I do not waste any money?