1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Fuel delivery issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2013, 09:29 PM
Beginning Member
erimos is on a distinguished road
Default Fuel delivery issues

Hello folks. I have recently bought a 1993 S10 Blazer w/ CPI and I'm having issues getting the thing running. I am fairly sure that the fuel pump needs to be replaced. However, I wanted to make this thread partly as a way to see if anyone could shed some new light on the situation, and also to try to get a lot of the information on this subject in one place: while doing research on this, there's a lot of good stuff out there, but a bit scattered. Hopefully I can try to help people who may have this problem in the future.

That said, I am still new to cars, so please please let me know if I have made a mistake with any of this, I'm trying to understand as well as I can and I want to make sure I have it right in my head.

Ok, so to start:
-When I first got it, I put the key in it, nothing happens.

-Checked the battery, this thing is about 6 years old. I tried charging it up for a few days and it took a charge but it cranked the engine really slowly and didn't hold a charge for very long. Replaced it with a new battery.

-Tried spraying starter fluid directly into the intake manifold, just above the throttle (I did this by just loosening the hose clamp holding the air intake on and moving that out of the way slightly). This didn't work, so I ended up taking the air intake completely off and holding the throttle open and spraying starter fluid well into the manifold. Cranked the engine, it burned the starting fluid! This tells me we have a spark (or fire as some of the older guys I know call it) and I assume there is some compression. If the engine isn't running, we must not be getting any fuel.