1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Serpentine Belt Issues ('92 S-10 Blazer)

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2012, 10:04 AM
Starting Member
Stephen Uhlenkamp is on a distinguished road
Question Serpentine Belt Issues ('92 S-10 Blazer)

The other night my '92 S-10 Blazer started making some high-pitched sequels, and they got louder the higher the RPM. When I tried it this morning I shut off the AC and it got a little quieter, but still continued. I think that this is due to a loose serpentine belt. I'm a college student who has neither the money to pay a mechanic to fix it, nor do I fully know how to go about fixing this.

A little research has helped me figure out a few options to approach it.
A) See if I can tighten up the belt by tightening the tensioner. (Though not fully sure which pulley this is, much less if I can tighten it much more from how it is right now if so)
B) Replace the belt all together. I've watched a few videos on how to do so but once again I need to make sure I loosen the right pulley for the tensioner when I do this.
C) Replacing the Tensioner Pulley all together

So essentially I'm just needing help knowing which pulley I need to me adjusting and perhaps some advice to make sure I'm on the right track.
I live only a few blocks from an auto-parts store so walking there and purchasing what I need an back is fine if you would advice not driving it till repaired.

Old 03-19-2012, 10:17 AM
BF Veteran
chris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura aboutchris015 has a spectacular aura about

Cant tighten the tensioner as its spring loaded to tighten itsself if need be.