1st Generation S-series (1983-1994) Tech Discuss 1st generation S-series (1983-1994) general tech topics here.

Valve won't adjust

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2012, 11:58 AM
Jackie Banks is on a distinguished road
Default Valve won't adjust

Hello everyone, I just did a head gasket replacement on my 92 S-10 Blazer Vortec 4.3. I am in the process of reassembling the engine and I have a #3 cylinder valve thats not adjusting properly. I am following the Hayne's Manual instructions for proper valve adjustment (tightend the valve till no play then an extra half turn), the valve will only turn about 1/4th and it is too tight. I am new to valvetrain adjustments but there is something wrong and I have no clue what it is. After getting the Haynes Manual I learned all of the pushrods need to go back in the way they came out, I did not do this, could this be the issue? Any help would be appreciated.

Old 03-11-2012, 12:30 PM

Can't edit my post but it is the #2 cylinder exhaust valve if that matters.

Old 03-11-2012, 07:46 PM
Beginning Member
SteveS is on a distinguished road

Push rods should all be the same. They should go back exactly where they were, although I've seen many engines run fine when they weren't. The lifters themselves would be more critical as to original placement. (camshaft wear etc)

Now, I'm assuming you're adjusting the valves with the engine not running.
I would guess that the pushrod is not seated on the lifter. Then it definitely would be tight. Good way to bust something. Could be resting on the oil galley casting. Or, the lifter is in upsidedown. (extremely slim chance, but possible. Doubt you would get the pushrod in place then).

How does the height of the stud threads compare to the others?