2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

1997 4 door 4wd Service Engine Light Questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2006, 02:41 AM
drumzandrekkids is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 1997 4 door 4wd Service Engine Light Questions

greetings everyone.

let me start by apologizing for only briefly searching this board for related information, and for such a long post.

i am new to this board as of tonight and am turning to anyone willing to offer insight as to my inquiries. i posted a thread in the new member's area, but to start, i really dont know much about cars besides how to drive them. being a modern day dude that is kind of embarrasing but hey i can't help that now. i know something is wrong with my truck and i want to go to the dealer at least reasonably informed about what the problem could be, seeing as though i am a pretty broke musician and rely on my truck to get us to and from gigs, this is a relatiely serious issue for me.

about a month ago, i noticed that my trunk had a marked lack of acceleration when accelerating from a stop light. this was a one time occurence. about a week later it happened a few times while driving. i spoke with some friends and they suggested perhaps a clogged fuel filter. i took it to Autozone last friday (which during the trip there and back did not experience the problem) to have the Service Engine codes scanned in this is what was returned:

P-0740 = the pcm has determined that a malfunction exists in the electrical circuit for the torque converter clutch.

P-0753 = the pcm has detected a short to ground, a short to battery, or an open circuit condition in the electrical circuit for shift solenoid "A".

P-0758 = the pcm has detected a short to ground, a short to battery, or an open circuit condition in the electrical circuit for shift solenoid "B".