2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

P0147 O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malifunction

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2005, 10:13 PM
MeidleinA is an unknown quantity at this point
Default P0147 O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malifunction

My 'Check Engine' light came on yesterday morning. Since I just bought this beast 2 weeks ago, I thought, "Oh great, what did I get myself into...."

Anyway, my code reader indicated a P0147, O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malifunction (Bank 1 Sensor 3). I have a subscription to ALLDATA which has provided valuable information, but I was wondering if anyone has had any experience in this DTC and if there are any caveats as to fixing the sensor issue.

As I was reading through the ALLDATA info, I came across this:

----------------------------------------
Service and Repair

REMOVAL PROCEDURE

TOOLS REQUIRED
J 39194 Oxygen Sensor Wrench

NOTE: Do not remove this pigtail from either the heated oxygen sensor (HO2S) or the oxygen sensor (O2S) . Removing the pigtail or the connector will affect sensor operation.

Handle the oxygen sensor carefully. Do not drop the HO2S. Keep the in-line electrical connector and the louvered end tree of grease, dirt, or other contaminants. Do not use cleaning solvents of any type.

Do not repair the wiring, connector or terminals. Replace the oxygen sensor if the pigtail wiring, connector, or terminal is damaged.

This external clean air reference is obtained by way of the oxygen sensor signal and heater wires. Any attempt to repair the wires, connectors, or terminals could result in the obstruction of the air reference and degraded sensor performance.

The following guidelines should be used when servicing the heated oxygen sensor:

* Do not apply contact cleaner or other materials to the sensor or vehicle harness connectors. These materials may get into the sensor causing poor performance.