2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

2000 LS curious brake issue-advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2010, 07:29 PM
Starting Member
JayStumble is on a distinguished road
Default 2000 LS curious brake issue-advice needed

Hey Folks, my first post...forgive me please if it isn't in the proper area, I've been lurking a little here and there so I'm fairly familiar. Seems as though whenever I search the 'net to solve an issue I end up on this forum reading a post, and since you all seem like friendly, helpful folks I figured I'd pop in and ask. I'm not a very mechanical person, but I'm gonna try to describe this as best I can. Again I'm in a 2000 LS two-door, 4x4.

Earlier today as I was pulling into the gas station, my brakes did a curious thing---they refused to operate. The pedal did NOT go to the floor, in fact it stayed put, didn't give an inch. I stood on that sucker, and in the nick of time it "popped" and I came to a halt seconds before plowing through the glass storefront. I wasn't going fast, but quick enough to where I'd have caused damage. A little rattled, I checked under the pedal in case a piece of trash or something was wedged under there but there was nothing.
As I was leaving the lot, the same thing happened. Again the pedal stayed stiff and didn't give an inch, then it "popped" and I came to a halt in the nick of time. WTF? I made it home with fingers crossed, and my brakes worked fine all the way to my driveway, thank god. I pumped them quite a few times while parked but could not get them to lock as they had. As I was running behind schedule, I only had time to pop the hood and check the fluid level. All seemed fine. I did not inspect anything else, yet.