2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

4WD-- '03 wheel won't spin freely when off the ground.

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2015, 10:20 AM
jimspahr@msn.com is on a distinguished road
Default 4WD-- '03 wheel won't spin freely when off the ground.

On my 2003 Blazer, I am trying to verify which front wheel hub is bad. I suspect the passenger side front so I jacked up the right side/pass. side/ and tried to spin the tire with my hands. It was hard to spin it with both hands. It's as though the caliper is sticking. How does it feel to spin the front wheel with the 4WD button in 'two wheel drive' ? Shouldn't the gear lever be in Park or Neutral ? It doesn't seem it should be that difficult to spin. Maybe that explains why I am only getting 17 mpg. Any suggestions on how to find the bad bearing?

Old 08-23-2015, 02:45 PM

I am new to 4WD. I know if I had jacked up the front of a RWD vehicle, I could easily spin the front wheel. What would cause this 4WD Blazer to be hard to turn other than a frozen brake caliper? Is this a common sign of a bad 'wheel hub bearing'? Here's the great 1A Auto DIY video for this project. It is a 35 MM socket for the big nut.

Old 08-23-2015, 02:47 PM

2003 Chevy Blazer S10 4WD Front Wheel Bearing & Hub Assembly Pair (Timken) at 1A Auto.com

This is the 1A Auto video on how to replace the 4WD front wheel bearing and hub assembly.

Old 08-25-2015, 07:15 AM

In my post no. 1 above , I had jacked up the passenger side and spun the wheel. Very hard! Yesterday I jacked up the driver's side and spun the wheel to see if it was free spinning or hard to spin. It is just as hard to spin as the other side. Does this mean something is wrong with my transfer case or something else in the 4WD system? How do you test the SUV for a bad bearing? It is 260.00 for two Timkin bearings with ABS harness and quite a job to do without an air wrench. When driving over 40 mph, the front end roars.