2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

95 Blazer rough idle in cold AM - throwing codes

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2006, 09:55 PM
manalive is an unknown quantity at this point
Default 95 Blazer rough idle in cold AM - throwing codes

Hey all - I'm new to the 'Forum' and glad there is such a thing. I'm sure others have asked and received good answers about the symptoms I'm having but I can't find the right thread to answer the questions I have now. So at the risk of repeating someone else I'll ask anyway.

Since the weather has gotten colder here in VA (maybe the last 4-5 weeks), my 95 Blazer idles really rough in the morning, bounces like a cylinder is not firing and flashes the SES light for several minutes. As I drive, it is sluggish to want to accelerate and on my way to work (about 10 min) even after going solid, the SES sometimes flashes again for a minute. The engine runs smooth during the day and afternoon drive home and often the SES light goes out, only to come on again the next morning with the same symptoms.

Last week my shop pulled 3 codes from the computer, (O2 sensor, random misfire and something regarding the EGR valve). My mechanic thought an EGR cleaning and new filter/gasket were needed so we replaced them. Still had the problem. Today they let the shop guru check it out on a more expensive scanner and he pulled three codes. This time I asked for the exact codes: (P0141 O2 Sensor Heater Circuit (Bank 1 Sensor 2), P1133 HO2S Insufficient Switching Bank 1 Sensor 1, P0300 Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire Detected).