2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Brake issues

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2010, 12:18 AM
valeria1782 is on a distinguished road
Question Brake issues

I have a 1995 Blazer and a couple months ago, I noticed that the brakes were kind of spongy, more so than normal so I changed my calipers, pads, rear shoes, wheel cylinders, and brake booster. Now, none of that made much of a difference so I changed the Master cylinder today and bled all my brakes, but now I am hearing a sharp hiss of air when the brakes are pressed. It happened more so when me and my friend were bleeding them because I was actually under the hood checking the MC to make sure there was no leaking, but I don't hear it so much inside. Now, the brakes still seem kind of spongy and the pedal just seems like it is going to far to the firewall. I checked my lines and I am not seeing a leak anywhere. I am not a mechanic and every time I take it so a shop to get looked at, I get screwed probably cause I am woman, despite the fact that I know a little so I don't trust anyone with any of my vehicles so I am on my own for this. Can anyone offer some advice? I hissing sound is definitely coming from the driver front area, but it doesn't really sound like it is directly from the MC. I don't know and snow is right around the corner so I really want to get it fixed.
Thanks

Old 11-17-2010, 06:06 AM
Starting Member
Nvidia78 is on a distinguished road

Sounds like it could be the brake booster, there is a main vacuum line that runs to it, check and make sure that is on and that the fitting on the brake booster is not broke. To check and make sure its not the booster itself you can start and let the vehicle run a bit then shut it off, depress the brake pedal, it should not be hard right away you should have enough vacuum in the booster for a couple pedal applications before the pedal goes hard

Old 11-17-2010, 06:56 AM
Administrator