2nd Generation S-series (1995-2005) Tech Discuss 2nd generation S-series (1995-2005) general tech topics here.

Chevy Blazer ZR 1999 doesn't start / fuel or vaccum leak?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2020, 03:18 AM
Beginning Member
FrenchZR2 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Chevy Blazer ZR 1999 doesn't start / fuel or vaccum leak?

Hello,

I am French and own a Chevrolet Blazer LS ZR from 1999. But it hasn't started for several months.
I use Google to translate ... Yes, my English is no longer very good!

I will tell you what happened so that you can help me solve this problem. Note that I am not a professional mechanic ...

One evening several months ago, I turned the key. the starter turns but it does not start. I sounded several minutes later and it started. A week later, while driving, the Blazer's engine suddenly stopped as if it had run out of gas. Vehicle on a tow truck ... Local mechanics don't want to get into trouble with this kind of vehicle, he drops it off at my house.

I search a little and I change the oil pressure regulator placed under the ignition distributor. The Blazer starts! Great.

2 weeks later (I have done about 400km) the engine stops like a gasoline breakdown and I come back again on the tow truck.

Fuel pressure tests (made from the sticky post on this site):
At the service port, ignition On = 58psi and does not hold after.
At the outlet of the fuel filter = pump pressure 70psi and does not maintain at 50 as it should.

Service port fuel pressure, pump on, ignition on, engine stopped and for good reason, it has not started for a long time

I had planned to do work on the Blazer, I took advantage of it and since then I have:
- Changed the complete fuel injector spider (pressure regulator included)
- the fuel pump
- The petrol tank
- The fuel tank filler neck
- The fuel filter
The pressure test results are the same before and after all changes.

I finally changed: